Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Earlier this week I blogged about the importance of taking it slow in Bikram yoga. This is especially true in Balancing Stick pose – Tuladandasana – the final posture in the balancing series. It is a 10-second posture which makes it tempting to rush through but if you do, you lose the form and alignment which give the benefits.
balancing stick
There is a terrific post on Bikram Yoga Vancouver about how to do Tuladandasana correctly. The part about engaging the core is especially important — I see a lot of students who focus on the arms and legs (also important!) but forget to use the core muscles that hold the whole pose together:

The core muscles are also needed in this posture; the lower abdominal muscles must be contracted. From the core, I fully extend my lifted leg back, toes pointed; the challenge here is to keep the leg pointing straight back and not off centre. I press my upper arms to my head and extend my torso forward from the core. This is the “human tug-of-war” Bikram speaks off, the equal and opposing forces. I stretch forward and extend my leg back while keeping the thigh of my balancing leg contracted and moving the weight more toward the ball of my foot (where the centre of balance is in this posture).

Oh – did I mention that I breathe? Over the years I’ve managed to learn to breathe deeply during this pose, using the exhale to extend my torso and leg away from my core.

Read the whole post at: Bikram Yoga Vancouver

Share your questions/thoughts about Balancing Stick in the comments!

