Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

One of the best things about teaching yoga is all the talented, inspiring people I meet. In order to share that enjoyment with the group, as it were, I’ll be running occasional interviews with some of my wonderful yoga students and friends, starting with raw food chef, chocolatier and all-around healthy living guru Rachel Martino.

Rachel is a dedicated yogi and her smile and effervescent energy has lit up many a 7AM Bikram session! In 2010 she started making the most delicious, so-good-they-outta-be-bad raw chocolates I’ve ever had the pleasure of tasting. Rachel also runs a raw pop-up restaurant, does bespoke catering, is a nutrition consultant, and lots more. Check out her website byrachelmartino for the scoop.

Rachel in Norway

Rachel in Norway


Here’s what Rachel has to say about chocolate, yoga, and the relationship between eating and living well…

How do you fit chocolate into your busy schedule?
Making chocolate requires focus, organization and creativity. I set time aside specifically for this, and luckily unless I’m dipping chocolates with fresh perishable fillings, they have a very good shelf life!

Do yoga and chocolate go together?
They do. My experience of yoga is a brilliant means of connection to self and to others. Actually, the primary reason that I chose to learn to make chocolate was very similar. I believe great quality, well-made chocolate brings people together. It helps you connect to your taste buds, and opens the mind. chocolates

What’s your favourite yoga pose?
That’s a tough question! My favourite right now is probably headstand. I have seen my strength build through regular practice and it feels great to be upside down!

Who inspires you?
Truthfully, most people inspire me in some way. Children probably inspire me the most because they are so expressive.

What is your favourite quote?
One that I love is “Talent hits a target no one else can hit; Genius hits a target no one else can see.” – Arthur Schopenhauer

What is the last book you read?
whole coverWhole by Colin T Campbell

Where you would go if someone handed you an all-expenses paid trip to anywhere?
I’d choose a round-the-world ticket and I’d go to Copenhagen, Sicily, Kerala, Nepal, Chang Mai, Sydney, The Gold Coast, Salar de Uyuni, Patagonia, Iguazu Falls & Reykjavik.

Contact Rachel on info@byrachelmartino.com.

