Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yoga isn’t just about the the physical postures you do in the studio. It is creating an awareness and attitude that carries over into the rest of your life. This following quote talks beautifully about the importance of being practicing love and compassion — which doesn’t come easy. But if you are accustomed to the physical practice of Bikram yoga, you’ll find the spiritual and mental practice of dealing with life graciously becomes a little easier.

peace

Choosing to give out love doesn’t happen naturally all the time. It takes work. It takes daily effort to stay in this zone. I find that I have to fill myself up with uplifting thoughts on a regular basis. I think this is why I tend to have my best days when I begin by reading from anything that inspires me to inspire others.

And when I don’t do this work, when I don’t take time to consciously choose to give out love rather than demonstrate a need for it, I find that it becomes super easy to slide back into being a reactive person who is easily offended by anything that threatens my ego.

So I guess the main thought that I want to share is this: if you’re ever feeling crummy and you’re looking for a way to feel at peace, try going back to the well, the well that fuels you to be gentle, understanding, generous, and humble.

Even when you are clearly wronged by someone, I can almost guarantee that if you put your hurt feelings away for just a moment and respond with a gentle, understanding, generous, and humble spirit, you will be better for it. And you can spend the rest of your day knowing that you did your part to create healthy energy for someone else.

