Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of the most common reasons I hear for people not doing yoga is “I’m can’t do yoga because I’m not flexible.”

This is akin to saying, “I won’t go jogging because I can’t run a marathon,” or “I’m quitting my job because I’m not the boss.”

Yoga is not about being flexible; it’s about becoming flexible. And the first thing you have to learn to flex is your mind. If you’re worried about not doing yoga because you’re not “good enough” your biggest challenge is to open your mind, let go of that fear and perfectionism, and step into the studio and practice yoga.

You don't have to do this to do yoga!

You don’t have to do this to do yoga!


If you’re competitive and results-orientated, you have to set that aside for 90 minutes every day in your Bikram yoga class and focus on doing the best that you can, at that moment.

This might be difficult at first but remember all you have to do is to be present. Do as much or as little as you feel, and give yourself permission to learn and grow, without comparison.

As you do, you will find the physical and mental freedom to be more responsive, less judgemental of yourself and others, and to accept where you are – both in and out of the hot yoga room.

Remember: It’s called yoga practice, not yoga’s perfect.

